Showing posts with label 1971. Show all posts
Showing posts with label 1971. Show all posts

A Clockwork Orange

Viewed in
2002

Formats
DVD

Premise
Stanley Kubrick's adaptation of the Anthony Burgess novel about a delinquent creating chaos in futuristic England and forced into government mandated re-education.

Thoughts
It's been a while, but I still recall Malcolm McDowell's edgy performance, Wendy Carlos' synthesized score, the bastardization of classic music and "Singin' in the Rain", and the re-education scenes. It was mentally disturbing, hypnotic, and haunting. An interesting must-watch for film buffs.

What I would change
Nothing.

Diamonds are Forever

Viewed in
2010

Formats
HD TV

Premise
Sean Connery returns as James Bond to investigate the disappearance of diamonds.

Loved
Las Vegas car chase scene.

Liked
The franchise hitting all the high notes.

Thoughts
Sure felt like the good old days.

It was pretty much the mold that I knew and love: sexy women, cool gadgets, campy (but funny) one-liners. There was a ridiculous Moon buggy chase, but followed by a cool car chase through the streets of Las Vegas, including the awesome chase through the parking lot, and the alley. The stunts have gotten better.

As well as Connery's return, there was the return of Felix Leiter from Dr. No, and (more tolerable) Shirley Bassey to sing the theme song.

After just watching the early 1960's movies, jumping to 1971 Sean Connery was a bit shocking. At times, he just looked fatter and older. His eyebrows were getting very bushy. If I had just channel-surfed to this film, I probably would have asked, "why is Neil Diamond playing 007?".

Since I watched the films out of order, this was actually my first time meeting Blofeld character, so unfortunately, the history and impact was not with me.

The biggest flaw was that the plot was totally convoluted and confusing, but of course, plot was never a Bond film's main appeal. While this had the false ending, like From Russia With Love, at least it was short and sweet. Also, I wished there was more banter between Bond and Moneypenny.

Overall, there was not much to complain about, other than a little low on the sex, and Connery looking a little past his prime.

What I would change
Other than shaving Connery's eyebrows?

Dirty Harry

Viewed in
2010

Premise
Clint Eastwood plays Dirty Harry, a cop with his own sense of justice.

Liked
Eastwood being Eastwood.

Hated
Score.

Thoughts
A standard, gritty crime movie with some cool Eastwood moments.

The main reason to check this out is because of Clint in his always cool silent, squint-eyed, "don't mess with me" persona. The famous scene of him taking down a car full of bank robbers and asking one of them if he feels "lucky" was timeless and awesome beyond words. Too bad that happened in the first third of the movie. Another great moment was when he finally went into vigilante mode and stalked the antagonist via bridge.

Unfortunately, the rest of the movie was kind of ho hum. I appreciated the gritty style, with bloody bodies and sadistic deeds done onto victims, but I do not think it was anything special. The movie makers made an effort to make a good film and fell short. One cool thing was all the different ways the movie presented to the audience why Eastwood's character name is "Dirty".

I felt sorry for Andy Robinson, who played the bad guy. The actor had to suffer a lot of physical abuse as his character got harassed by Dirty Harry. Yet at the same time, audiences probably hated him because of his hateful, torturing killer character.

Lastly, Lalo Schifrin as composer was a horrible choice. Most of the time, there was minimal score, to enforce the realistic atmosphere of the story. However, when it came to the killer's theme, it sounded like 1970's porn music. Even worse was they leitmotif use of this theme, whenever he's around, queue the porn music. I understand he was an important composer of the time, but the score just totally defeated the seriousness of the moment and annoyed the heck out of me every time.

Watching Clint Eastwood taking the law into his own hands was fun, the rest of the movie was not so much.

What I would change
Used a darker shade of red for all the fake blood. Maybe it was the style back then, but it was way too bright for a movie attempting to portray grit.

Random
I was amused that John Vernon (who would later play Dean Wormer from Animal House) played the mayor.

Duel

Viewed in
2013

Formats
HDTV (90-minute theatrical version)

Premise
A highway commuter is terrorized by a big-ass truck. One of Steven Spielberg's earliest works.

Liked
Nail-biting vehicle chases scenes.

Thoughts
It was much more exciting than I expected.

A lot of the vehicle sequences were exhilarating, thanks to deft technical execution, in-your-face camera choices, and fantastic sound design. Oddly enough, despite the numerous action-packed car chases, the whole dynamic between the protagonist and the inhuman killer played more like a Hitchcock-like cat-and-mouse thriller. The pacing had to do with that, as the film makers knew when to let Dennis Weaver (and audience) breathe and gather his thoughts, and when to crank up the danger.

Since it was Spielberg at the helm, a lot of people have rightfully compared it to Jaws. But I'd like to throw in a another movie into the discussion: The Terminator, as I sat on pins and needles, wondering if our hapless hero tried to survive (not win) against this hulking, invulnerable mechanical monstrosity that Just. Won't. Stop.

As a Southern Californian, there was also the added bonus of recognizing a lot of desert highways and landscapes throughout.

Obviously, this was far from perfect. Not only was the premise outrageous, but the movie physics was a bit laughable, as this gargantuan semi was able haul ass at over 90 miles an hour, could hold nearly infinite gas, and mock the laws of inertia. Some of the plot logic was outdated, since some scenes wouldn't happen in the age of cell phones. The acting was so-so, and Weaver's internal monologues just felt cheesy.

Much like The Fast and the Furious flicks, turn your sense of plausibility off, and enjoy this fun thriller thanks to smart pacing and bound-for-greatness camera choices from Spielberg.

Fiddler on the Roof

Viewed in
2011

Formats
Cable TV

Premise
In pre-revolutionary Russia, a poor Jewish peasant must contend with marrying off his three daughters while antisemitic sentiment threatens his home. Based on the musical.

Liked
The complex story, Topol's performance, the music.

Disliked
Audio/video sync issues.

Thoughts
I didn't love it, but it was enjoyable and interesting.

Unlike most musicals, I found the story to be quite engrossing. I appreciated the fact that it did not dumb down the themes of poverty, orthodox religion, changing times, revolution and Jewish displacement. It was weird trying to enjoy a tale full of sadness while there's singing, dancing and comedy going on. I thought it did a decent job of balancing between gravity and levity.

Another main reason for the film's success was Topol's performance as the burly, stubborn, loving Tevye. He was a charming and sympathetic presence while exhibiting wild mood swings. Having said that, I was a bit disappointed that they did not keep Zero Mostel as the lead, who made that role on Broadway. Nevertheless, Topol proved the critics wrong with an enthralling performance.

I also really liked the music. It had tons of memorable songs, some very humorous, others just flat out haunting. My high school had done Fiddler on the Roof nearly two decades ago, and watching this now, it instantly sparked memories of those wonderful melodies and lyrics (though "Dibby Dibby Dum"-ing seemed rather lazy in "If I were a Rich Man").

Granted it was made four decades ago, but I found it technologically a mess. The video/audio was not in sync (really obvious when the fiddler fiddles), there was some bad editing, inferior sound quality, and zoom issues. It was very distracting. I would be lenient on such issues except that I've seen older musicals with less problems.

I was also slightly underwhelmed by Jerome Robbins' choreography, but that might be due to the fact that I thought everything would be as badass as his work in West Side Story.

Overall, I enjoyed this lengthy musical, thanks to Topol, interesting themes, and unforgettable music. But I wouldn't mind if this was remade with better production value. I just wouldn't know how to cast Tevye, maybe Brad Garrett?

What I would change
No idea.

Random
A very young Barty Crouch Sr. from Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix was apparently in this cast as someone called Sexton.

Lastly, Zombie Jews!

The French Connection

Viewed in
1998

Formats
VHS

Premise
Gene Hackman and Roy Scheider star in William Friedkin's masterpiece about two New York cops who take down a French drug smuggling ring.

Loved
The climactic chase.

Thoughts
Even after all these years, it still easily holds the title of "greatest car chase scene ever". To this day, I still remember how exhilarating and memorable that climax was. If I recall, the rest of the film played out like a character study with a documentary style, with cool performances by Hackman and Scheider.

What I would change
No idea.

Harold and Maude

Viewed in
1999

Formats
VHS

Premise
Young, rich, and obsessed with death, Harold finds himself changed forever when he meets lively septuagenarian Maude at a funeral.

Thoughts
Don't remember much, but I liked the acting, but it had that weird, artsy 1970's vibe to it. I don't think it was too creepy having such a different age difference between the two. The twist at the end about Maude's past seemed to come out of nowhere.

What I would change
Not sure.

Shaft

Viewed in
2012

Formats
HDTV

Premise
Richard Roundtree stars a bad mutha-shut yo mouth, who must retrieve a crime lord's kidnapped daughter.

Loved
Isaac Hayes' theme song.

Liked
Roundtree's charming lead.

Disliked
Mediocre story.

Hated
Cheap audio quality.

Thoughts
There were some good things about it.  Roundtree definitely embodied the meaning of cool, often talking back to non-black police associates, not afraid to play the race card to his advantage.  For being one of the biggest influences of blaxploitation, there's very little that was exploitive.  The themes, jive dialog, and characters were mostly grounded in realism.

It goes without saying that Hayes' transcendent theme song would make a scene of paint drying look badass.  The rest of the score was decent, with lyrics reflecting the gritty yet cool tone of the flick.

Unfortunately, Roundtree's infectious charm could not mask the so-so writing.  Adapted from the novel, the main plot took a while to reveal itself, then the story took a detour.  After finally finding his right-hand man, and banging a few chicks without romantic repercussions, Shaft finally got back to the task at hand.

While it was cool (and risky) to have a black-heavy cast, I found the majority of the characters boring and hampered by subpar acting.  The only semi-charming person was Shaft's police ally, who of course, take no crap from our hero.  Lastly, the sound quality was horrible.  There's one particular exterior scene where you hear cars during one character's dialog, then bad ADR (w/o cars) during the other character's dialog.

Aside from its cultural impact and the iconic theme song, Shaft as a whole is just okay.  There have been plenty of better films about gritty cops, badass urban heroes, and black-empowerment, but they all probably owe a bit to this 1971 feature.

Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory

Viewed in
2006

Premise
Roald Dahl's book comes to life.

Who should watch
Kids of all ages and sizes.

Thoughts
The film terrified me as a kid. But then again, I was the biggest wimp in school. I think this is a prerequisite to graduate from childhood.

The reasons to watch it are the Oompa Loompas, Gene Wilder's unbeatable performance, the moral story, and because it was the original.

What I would change
Improved the non-Oompa Loompa songs.